Skip to main content

Final at the Volvo Masters 2022 in Sweden

23.06.2022

25 finalists from 13 countries across Europe faced a series of gruelling challenges at the Volvo Customer Centre in Eskilstuna, Sweden. The competitions pushed the drivers to their absolute limits in terms of accuracy.

Lucky winner
After a two-year break, Volvo Construction Equipment welcomed the most experienced 25 drivers from Europe to its Customer Centre in Eskilstuna, Sweden, on Saturday 4 June 2022 for the final of the Drivers’ Club. Competitors from 13 countries took part in three preliminary rounds to qualify for the semi-finals and then the final to determine the best of the best. All disciplines were timed, with penalties added for mistakes. The 25-year-old Frenchman Jonathan Legeard was crowned the best construction equipment driver in Europe in the 2022 Drivers’ Club Final.

The first competition required the operators to drive a L25 Electric around a course, switch between pallet forks and bucket attachments and use the bucket to close a tiny matchbox.

The second qualifier involved moving a ball secured to the end of an excavator arm through a maze.

While the operators during their third task had to maneuver an articulated hauler in a cross shape without knocking off any of the tennis balls marking the boundary and finishing with the pointer at the front of the machine in the center of a bullseye marked on the ground.

Close competition
The competitors with the 10 quickest times completed the excavator maze challenge again, and then the top five took part in a game of excavator billiards. Each operator had to break the triangle with a stick attached to the excavator arm, then try to get as many balls in the holes as possible within three minutes. Jonathan Legeard from France secured the top spot on the winner’s podium, with Reijer van der Grift and Christ-Jan Jansen both from the Netherlands coming in second and third, respectively.

“What an incredible final! It was a tough competition and very close. All the participants should be very proud of the extremely high level of skill they displayed,” said Hanna Jaschke, who is responsible for the Operators Club at Volvo CE. Paulina Ekestubbe, Head of the Customer Center, added: “This was the first Operator’s Club Final we have held since 2019 and there was such a fantastic atmosphere. Many of our competitors are old friends, having met at other finals over the years, and they were so excited to see each other again and battle it out once more for the title of Europe’s best operator. We also invited the operators to our customer event, Volvo Days, for the first time. They thoroughly enjoyed test-driving our latest machines, especially the new electric models”.

Team Austria

From left to right:

Finalist Martin Moser
Drivers’ club chairman Alois Hütter
Finalist  Konrad Herndler

Top performance from Austria
The Austrian finalists also showed top performances: Martin Moser made it to 4th place as the best participant from the German-speaking region and Konrad Herndler also convinced with a strong performance at the competition.

About the Volvo Operators’ Club
The Operators’ Club was first established in Germany in 1998 as a way for Volvo CE to show its appreciation for operators. 24 years later, it counts tens of thousands of members across 19 branches in Europe and is open to equipment operators of all brands. Besides the prestigious Operators’ Club Final, each country branch runs its own local events throughout the year, where operators are invited to connect with peers and practice their skills in a fun and safe environment.

Press contact

Sandra Jansen
Marketing & Communications Manager

sandra.jansen@volvo.com
T: +49 89 800 74 – 460

Evidence: Volvo Construction Equipment Germany GmbH. 85737 Ismaning.
(Publication free of charge – receipt requested)

Skip to main content

Finale bei den Volvo Masters 2022 in Schweden

14.06.2022

25 Finalisten aus 13 Ländern Europas stellten sich einer Reihe von zermürbenden Herausforderungen im Volvo Customer Center in Eskilstuna, Schweden. Die Wettbewerbe brachten die Fahrer im Bezug auf die Genauigkeit an ihre absolute Grenzen.

Operators Club Final 2022 Group Picture2324x1200

Glücklicher Gewinner
Nach zwei Jahren Pause hat Volvo Construction Equipment am Samstag, den 4. Juni 2022 die erfahrensten 25 Fahrer aus Europa in sein Customer Center in Eskilstuna, Schweden, zum Finale des Fahrerclubs begrüßt. Die Teilnehmer aus 13 Ländern nahmen an drei Vorrunden teil, um sich für das Halbfinale und dann das Finale zu qualifizieren, um den Besten der Besten zu ermitteln. Alle Disziplinen wurden auf Zeit absolviert und mit Strafen für Fehler zeitlich aufgestockt. Der 25-jährige Franzose Jonathan Legeard wurde im Fahrerclub-Finale 2022 zum besten Baumaschinenfahrers Europas gekrönt.

Volvo Days 2022 0604 467
Volvo Days 2022 0604 909
Volvo Days 2022 0604 1005

Beim ersten Wettbewerb mussten die Fahrer mit einen L25 Electric einen Parcour fahren, zwischen Palettengabeln und Schaufeln wechseln, sowie mit der Schaufel eine winzige Streichholzschachtel verschliessen.

Die zweite Qualifikation bestand darin, eine Kugel durch ein Labyrinth zu bewegen, welches am Ende eines Baggerarms befestigt war.

Bei der dritten Disziplin mussten die Fahrer mit einem Dumper durch einen eng abgesteckten Parcour manövrieren, ohne einen der Pylone zu berühren, um dann einen Stab auf einer am Boden befestigten Zielscheibe mittig zu platzieren.

Ein Kopf an Kopf-Rennen
Die Teilnehmer mit den 10 schnellsten Zeiten absolvierten erneut die Bagger-Labyrinth-Herausforderung, und dann nahmen die besten fünf Fahrer an einer Partie Bagger-Billard teil. Jeder Bediener musste mit einem am Baggerarm befestigten Stock versuchen, innerhalb von drei Minuten so viele Kugeln wie möglich in die Löcher zu bekommen. Jonathan Legeard aus Frankreich sicherte sich den ersten Platz auf dem Siegertreppchen, Reijer van der Grift und Christ-Jan Jansen, beide aus den Niederlanden, belegten die Plätze zwei und drei. Jonathan nahm zum zweiten Mal am Fahrerclub-Finale teil, während Reijer zuvor bereits dreimal am teilnahm. Christ-Jan war ein absoluter Neuzugang.

Volvo Days 2022 Volvo Operators Club 1641

„Was für ein unglaubliches Finale! Es war ein harter Wettkampf und sehr knapp. Alle Teilnehmer sollten sehr stolz auf das extrem hohe Niveau sein, das sie gezeigt haben“, sagte Hanna Jaschke, die für den Fahrerclub bei Volvo CE verantwortlich ist. Paulina Ekestubbe, Leiterin des Customer Centers, fügte hinzu: „Dies war das erste Fahrerclub-Finale, das wir seit 2019 veranstaltet haben, und es herrschte eine so fantastische Atmosphäre. Viele unserer Finalisten sind alte Freunde, die sich im Laufe der Jahre bei anderen Finalveranstaltungen getroffen haben, und sie waren so aufgeregt, sich wiederzusehen und erneut um den Titel des besten Baumaschinenfahrers Europas zu kämpfen. Außerdem haben wir erstmals die Fahrer zu unserer Kundenveranstaltung Volvo Days eingeladen. Sie haben es sehr genossen, unsere neuesten Maschinen, insbesondere die neuen Elektromodelle, Probe zu fahren.“

Image001

Team Österreich

Von links nach rechts:

Finalist Martin Moser
Fahrerclub Vorsitzender Alois Hütter
Finalist  Konrad Herndler

Top-Leistung aus Österreich
Auch die heimischen Finalisten aus Österreich zeigten Top-Leistungen: Martin Moser hat es es als bester Teilnehmer aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum auf den 4.Platz geschafft hat und auch Konrad Herndler überzeugte mit einer starken Leistung beim Wettbewerb.

Über den Volvo-Fahrerclub
Der Volvo-Fahrerclub wurde erstmals 1998 in Deutschland gegründet, um Volvo‘s Wertschätzung gegenüber den Fahrern zu zeigen. 24 Jahre später zählt er Zehntausende von Mitgliedern in 19 Ländern und steht Baumaschinenfahrern aller Marken offen. Neben dem prestigeträchtigen Finale veranstaltet jeder Fahrerclub eigene lokale Veranstaltungen, bei denen die Fahrer eingeladen sind, sich mit Gleichgesinnten zu treffen und ihre Fähigkeiten zu zeigen.

Pressekontakt

Sandra Jansen
Marketing & Communications Manager

sandra.jansen@volvo.com
T: +49 89 800 74 – 460

Nachweis: Volvo Construction Equipment Germany GmbH. 85737 Ismaning.
(Veröffentlichung kostenfrei – Beleg erbeten)